C’mon in. Take your shoes off. Sit a spell. Ya’ll come back now, y’hear?

You have to be at least as old or older than me (bless your hearts!) to recognize that quote from a popular TV show back in the sixties. Got it yet? Keep thinking – I’ll tell you later.

E and I were having some what I call “face time” this morning and the conversation turned to patience or, rather, the LACK thereof. We acknowledge that we are both of the Boomer generation and we are probably a little more laid back than most but both of us continue to be appalled at what we perceive technology is doing to our culture these days.

I mean, really. Have you ever received a text while driving and didn’t answer it until you reached your destination, only to be chastised for not answering back quick enough??? Have you had someone call you and have to leave you a scathing voicemail that went something like, “WHERE ARE YOU??? CALL ME AS SOON AS YOU GET THIS!” , only to find out later that they wanted to tell you something like Wal-Mart had sheets on sale?  Calgon, take me away! (another oldie, sorry!) And don’t even get me started on social media posts, where people tell you everything about every minute of their day! That’s a whole other post!

In Galatians, we are told that longsuffering is a fruit of the Spirit; a characteristic of someone that loves the Lord. Hmmm. I love the Lord but I must admit that I haven’t been very longsuffering either. While driving, someone pulls out in front of me, only to go 10 miles an hour below the speed limit! Oh boy! My patience flies out the sunroof!  And, as I reflect further, I am not exhibiting much patience and longsuffering with the very people that aren’t patient! Wow!  BIG fail on my part!

The title of this post was part of the lyrics for a favorite TV show of mine a long time ago. Did you ever watch (or see reruns of) The Beverly Hillbillies? Yep, that’s it. They were a lovable group of country folk that suddenly found themselves filthy rich when oil was discovered on their property. Told that they should “move away from there. Californy is the place to be. So they loaded up the truck and they moved to Beverly…hills, that is. Swimmin’ pools. Movie stars.”  (Sorry, couldn’t stop myself!) The point is, they were just down home, simple people and many of the things the “city folks” did seemed unnecessary and pointless to them. They didn’t understand why everyone was always in such a hurry to get somewhere or make important decisions. Jed (the family patriarch) always wanted to “chew on it a while” – meaning, he wanted to take his time and think it through. Patience. Longsuffering.

As usual, when posting my thoughts on this blog, truth and self-examination stare back at me. Today is no different. I am suddenly reminded of the scripture (Psalm 46:10) on my wall above the fireplace. “BE STILL and know that I am God.” When we are looking for peace, direction and guidance, instead of running around like crazy people, trying to make it all happen, analyze every angle and chase down every rabbit – well, we should just take a few steps back, turn off the cellphone and “be still”. I believe then, that is when we will find the fruit and, hopefully, it will be big and plump and juicy and we will want to share it with everyone we meet.

Deep breath. Smile. Take your shoes off. Sit a spell…

Leave a Reply

